Power Converters Wiki (i.e. Buck Converter, Linear Regulator, UBEC/SBEC, etc)

To avoid losing the answers from this frequently asked question in other threads, it seems useful to create a wiki listing commonly used power converters.

Someone, at some point, will have no idea what a power converter is or why you’d need one. I’m no expert, but here’s some background info copy & pasted from elsewhere:

WHAT:

• DC-DC Converter - an electromechanical device that converts a source of direct current (DC) from one voltage level to another. Everything in this post is a DC-DC converter.

• Linear Regulator (or LDO) - type of DC-DC converter where a linear component (such as a resistive load) is used to regulate the output. A linear regulator essentially turns excess voltage into heat. Inefficient but simple.

• Switching Regulator - the other type of DC-DC converter that uses a switching element to transform the incoming power supply into a pulsed voltage, which is then smoothed using capacitors, inductors, and other elements. A switching regulator essentially turns the input voltage on & off at high speed to provide a lower output voltage, at high power conversion efficiency but also high noise.

• BEC/SBEC/UBEC (Battery Eliminator Circuit / Switching BEC / Universal BEC) - a power converter by another name, term coined in the rc/drone world. A linear BEC is a linear regulator (see above). A switching BEC is a switching regulator (see above). UBEC == SBEC.

• Nominal Battery Voltage - The average voltage a cell outputs when charged. “A cell’s nominal voltage essentially defines its chemistry, the type of cell it is. For most non-LiPo li-ion cells (yes, LiPo is Li-Ion) the nominal voltage is 3.6V. This is around where the cell would spend most of its time if discharged slowly. LiPo is often spec’d at 3.7V.” (thanks @Battery_Mooch)
    If you have a 10S li-ion battery pack, with 10 cells in series, your nominal voltage is 10x3.6 = 36V (typically).