esk8.news esk8 calc donate now

AWD 100kv Maytech hub | 10s5p | Flipsky 4.12VESC

This is my first build. I am using it to prototype what will eventually be an idea I have for a “micro-kart”. I am a Product Design student in my senior year at Drexel and this is part of my thesis into “the driving experience” for driving enthusiasts

The pieces:

4x maytech hub motors (100kv) https://maytech.cn/products/brushless-hub-motor-hall-sensor-motor-mto9055hbm-100-ha?variant=21911777574976

10s5p Samsung Q30 battery with BMS this link is for a 10s4p but I got a 10s5p built from them https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/10S4P-Rechargeable-Lithium-Battery-cell-for_62044308759.html?spm=a2700.8443308.0.0.20083e5fKN9pxo

Each on their own Flipsky 4.12 VESC https://flipsky.net/products/torque-esc-vesc-®-bldc-electronic-speed-controller?variant=8712049918012&currency=USD&gclid=CjwKCAiAzanuBRAZEiwA5yf4uh6c-EhZNPzQgwgJeWx7uuQM7YKIBLgirQCGOSVoItuNbFRceNMHcRoCJaIQAvD_BwE

And for now, all signaled by a single Flipsky VX1 remote via PPM (with only one ECS providing power) https://flipsky.net/products/flipsky-remote-vx1?gclid=Cj0KCQiAt_PuBRDcARIsAMNlBdr4iS9kY-eIMjisTKZRD_0am-zIqTiLvnF6ak_YFGRfFcTW1tIDCBoaAmK-EALw_wcB

I originally ordered a 10s2p battery and then learned about max amp output so I built it up as a dual motor build just to press forward with a moving object. I had each VESC motor tuned to the ~30A the FOC wizard came up with, but the battery max output to 15A (for a total of 30A max battery output)

This setup went around 27mph but was lacking in the acceleration dept.