AWD Eskate-Kart | 100kv Maytech hubs | 4.12 FSESC's | Left and Right throttles

This is my first build. I am using it to prototype an idea I have for a “micro-kart”. I am a Product Design student in my senior year and this is part of my thesis into “the driving experience” for driving enthusiasts.

Specs:

• 4x 100kv Maytech 90mm hub motors
  • 4x 4.12 Flipsky FSECS’s
  • 10S7P 30Q battery
  • Teensy 3.5 development board
  • 9 ply 1/16th” Maple Deck with epoxy
  • fiberglass enclosure
  • modified Razor kart steering components
  • laser cut 3/16" metal components

What I started with

-------------------------------------------------

I originally ordered a 10s2p battery and then learned about max amp output so I built it up as a dual motor board just to press forward with a moving object. I had each VESC motor tuned to the ~30A the FOC wizard came up with, but the battery max output to 15A (for a total of 30A max battery output)

This setup went around 27mph but was lacking in the acceleration dept.

I then ordered a 10s5p battery, ordered 8awg and 10awg wire as well as XT-90 connectors and programmed the VESC for battery max amps to 18.75A (for 75A max total with all 4). I did this with the 10s2p battery connected because I wasn’t going to run it with any load for longer for 10 seconds, just to feel what the board felt like that I was actually trying to build. The bigger battery is in the mail and I am soldering the new wires and connectors this weekend.

I am super happy with the acceleration of this thing now and look forward to some more research and testing. It is scary quick for a skateboard and it should make for a fun toy!

Here is one of my first sketches of a bent plywood go-kart from this drivetrain.

This is a work in progress and I appreciate any comments and questions.

27 Likes

can anyone suggest how to rotate pictures? they are all showing up rotated 90* counter clockwise…

1 Like

I love the drawing! Looks fun already.