"Lone Warrior" | Trampa HS11 | 80100 Single Motor 2WD | Arc200 | E-TOXX Chaindrive

Hey guys and girls, this is my very first build, started only 6 weeks ago :slight_smile:

Background

About 1.5 years ago I learned about electric hydrofoils in a Lift video on YouTube. Then I found out that you can actually build an eFoil yourself for less than the 12k$ a Lift costs. So I joined the efoil.builders forum, started planning, designing stuff and gathering parts. But due to time and money constrains (and no workshop) I never came very far and I was afraid I would never finish the project and have ~800€ worth of parts idling around.
I was trying to find something else I could do with the main components (motor, esc, battery) that I already had that would be a bit easier to complete and maybe a tad cheaper as well. So I stumbled across the esk8 community and saw those awesome electric MTBs. I also figured I would use an MTB more often than an eFoil, as it is much easier to transport.

So, when judging my build, please consider that the main components weren’t chosen for an esk8 originally and that this board is just an attempt to make use of what I already had.

The Build Concept

An eFoil only has one motor and one (beefy) motor controller. The 80100 I got was meant to be used in a direct drive setup. That is why it’s a 80kv motor, a bit awkward for an esk8. I also have a second spare 80100 so I could theoretically run dual motors, but I only have one Arc200 ESC. I can’t get a second one as they are discontinued (which is a shame because they are awesome motor controllers).