Help Battery warms up! #if you DIY do it properlY

Hi
I got a dual battery setup which I’ve been using for a couple months now. Since installing cloudwheels I noticed something odd.
After under 10km (usual range at least 20) the remote starts vibrating indicating battery is low and it stops taking throttle. But when rolling again the battery indicator jumps back up sometimes around 10v, usually from 44v back to 50v.

I know this is normal but when I touched the batteries after my ride I noticed the one that I removed a couple days ago got warm and the other didn’t. Is it normal for the battery to heat up while riding?
Asking so I know which battery enclosure I have to check.
My thought is either one battery is not connected properly anymore and thus doesn’t heat up or the other one heats up because of some malfunction maybe shorting somewhere

1 Like

Forgot to mention that I recently had to change my charging port because of some unforseen “malfunction”

Rough build I know :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

I would guess you came from smaller wheels and now are pulling more amps in order to move the bigger wheels? Is the battery made in China? Sounds like (and I’m speculating here bc I haven’t seen the inside of the pack) the series connections can’t handle the current and are creating heat, hence the burn marks You may also have some broken welds. I wouldn’t run that battery any more if I were u. Have you looked inside the battery enclosure?

1 Like

Also one OF the cells could be dead or malfunctioning. Can you check every series voltage to see if the pack is balanced?

3 Likes

This, and it may be dangerous to operate or charge.

3 Likes

Should have said the charging port blew while inserting the charger from a bad angle.
The battery packs were bought so I haven’t build them myself.
The ESC settings are the same as before if you meant that by pulling more amps.
Battery is 2x 14s2p could send you Fotos but they’re shrink wrapped in that blue stuff

1 Like