Focbox Unity burned out twice

Apologies if this isn’t exactly the right category to post in. It seemed right after I spent time browsing the forum.

I’m new to esk8 and I just finished my first build a few weeks ago. I ordered everything, assembled the board, and got it up and running with an experienced friend of mine who has been doing esk8 for years. Unfortunately, after day 2 of using the board with less than a mile traveled at no faster than 15mph, the DRV chip burned (image 1). I got a replacement under warranty as we thought it was a defect since my friend has never had that issue in his Unity boards and we couldn’t determine another reason. We just assembled the board with the new Unity a couple days ago, and it got through a mile yesterday with no issue, but after another mile today, it died on me again (image 2).

Does anyone have any idea why this has happened to me twice? We programmed the board exactly how my friend would program any of his boards. It’s running two flipsky 190kv motors on a 12s3p battery with approx. 3 feet of wire running it from the front enclosure to the unity in the rear enclosure (image 3). I can provide photos of the (somewhat disassembled) build itself should that help.

1 Like

I’d assume they’d have asked for a copy of your settings when you replaced the first bad one, but just to be safe you should probably post a copy of the config settings. It doesn’t look like any of the fets got fried (first picture at least), so I would lean towards them getting a bad batch of DRV chips. RMA and try again.

Unfortunately, since both of the VESCs won’t turn on, I can’t access photos of the config. Here are some of the important settings we changed. Let me know if you have any further insights, but everything we did in the programming should be pretty standard.

Motor current: 65A, -65A braking (both sides)
Battery current: 35A , -12A regen (both sides)
ERPM limit: 80000, -80000
Limit duty cycle current limit start to 85%