What would a deck need to be considered great?

After trying to buy the perfect board, I have decided just to build one from scratch. I have no experience with building boards, and I’ve never even eskated before. That said, I still think I’ll be able to build something decent since I’ve been riding high-end boards and prototypes since the beginning of high school. Since a decade has passed since I first got into longboarding, I figured it’s time that I finally start contributing to the culture.

Since I’m building something to fill my needs, I’m leaning towards building a low-profile; small to midsize cruising deck with an integrated battery/electronic compartment, a relatively lightweight, stiff deck, and tough/strong/robust build quality.

I’m leaning towards making it primarily out of carbon fiber, though I can be convinced to use different materials instead. If I can make something that I’m proud of, I’d consider selling it if people are interested, but this isn’t an advertisement tbh, I’m just trying to make a deck worth owning.

Any advice, however trivial, would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to leave any complaints/issues that you have with other boards or companies. Also, if there are any threads or links you think I should check out, just post them or message me. I am still a noob in terms of electronics/drivetrains, so I know I can always learn more.

5 Likes

CF is bad for rf, so if you go that route, make sure the lid or somethin isn’t CF so you don’t get cutouts

1 Like

Sorry if this is a silly question, but what does “rf” mean?

Radio frequency, typically carbon fiber decks impede the signal transmission and reception of our remotes. You either need to use a bigger antenna or plan carefully

2 Likes

Ernesto called, he wants his bad idea back /s

2 Likes

What’s your build process going to be? Starting from veneers? Vacuum press?

OMG. That’s major. Thanks for me informing me about that. You saved me tons of time trouble-shooting :joy:

2 Likes