Noob question about build

Hey esk8 community. Just bought a 2nd hand diy board and was wondering if anyone could help me answer a question as im a noob and don’t want to waste money.

The board has 110 TBs on it right now but roads are terrible in my area and wanted to buy evolves 6inch at wheels. Will I be able to put wheels on this build without any issues besides maybe wheel bite?

here is a link to the build.

Thank you all!

1 Like

You’d need to buy a set of hubs, bearings, pulleys, belts to support it but yeah

Will probably get bite though

You can’t just buy the $250 Evolve kit though since that needs special axles to support the bearings

Do you know of another kit that I would be able to buy that would be more of plug and play rather then buying parts separately?

Ehh, regards you’d need hubs with bolt on pulleys

Are you tied to 6" Evolve tires specifically? I can hook you up with Superstars with 72T pulleys and 165mm Urban Treads, plus 4 of the 8 bearings you will need

If you want plug and play you’re kinda out of luck, easiest would be 125mm Cloudwheels since you can keep the stock bearings and spacer, and maybe the belt, but you’d need a new wheel pulley at the very least and the alignment will be off

Edit: if you have the supported wheel pulley, you MIGHT be able to run either Evolve or Metroboard hubs, but I think you’d need an aftermarket bearing, would need measurements of the axle to figure out compatibility

1 Like

No not tied to evolve specifically just thought anything bigger then 6 inch at wheels would definitely cause wheel bite. Do you have any pics and how much are you asking?

Are cloud wheels much better for rough street roads then the 110 TBs?

It depends how rough the road is, if it’s chipped and dirty sidewalk and some light trail material the CWs will be fine (maybe a bit rough still)

If it’s shattered path and off road you’d need pneumatics, CWs would help but it would feel terrible

1 Like