Evolve Carbon GT DIY

Stock vs this build (if you ask which is which I’ll ask you to remove yourself from the internet for the next 2 millennia):

Here goes…

Long time lurker, been active on the forum for almost two months now. I have three Evolve boards that I’ve been riding since about three years, a GTX and two Carbon GTs. I have noticed that I’m only riding full speed, trigger fully pressed. It does get a bit boring and since one of the Carbons had a bad battery and Evolve hasn’t had a spare available for ages, last winter I decided that I would upgrade the Carbon.

Blahblah

I have been flying a lot of drones and built most of them myself. It gave me lots of soldering experience. I soldered my first radio when I was about 10 years old, over 30 years ago so I guess I will die soon anyway because of the vast amount of lead fumes that I breathed in as a kid. The drones also taught me about how to handle (and respect) bigger batteries, which comes in pretty handy. As of yet, no interest in building batteries myself.

I am in the process of getting a few Nylon pulleys with ABEC and Kegel cores (press fit, making Kegel bolt-ons to be used with the Dickyho retainers), a buddy of mine prints them perfectly. So far we have 36T, 40T and 44T to be used on Evolve axles, with double bearings for extra support. I’ll come back on that with test results. I will update this post with pictures, but earliest this weekend.

I really love the Carbon deck and even though many people have a disliking for the DKP, I love them. I have been stably riding them up to 50km/h and I also trust them above it, given they have the right bushings setup.

Bushings setups

This build
F1 Riptide 90a Shortstreetcone
F2 Riptide 90a Barrel
F3 Riptide 90a Shortstreetbarrel
F4 Riptide 93a Barrel

R4 Riptide 93a Barrel
R3 Riptide 93a Shortstreetbarrel
R2 Riptide 93a Barrel or Evolve SC 90a Barrel
R1 Riptide 93a Shortstreetcone or Evolve SC 90a Shortstreetcone

On my other Carbon GT I use: