Archer Boards Storefront

I’m happy to announce that the Archer Boards website is finally live, and our E-MTB gear drives are available to pre-order! :tada: :gear: :gear: :tada:

The gear drive pre-orders will be available to purchase for one month from today, and we expect delivery of the gear drives to your door by the end of October.

Development of these gear drives would not have been possible without help from the esk8 News community, that’s why we are adverting the pre-order here first. Manufacture of our first batch of gear drives would not be possible without people willing to pre-order, and that’s why we are selling the gear drives for special price of £275, a saving of £50 off the RRP.

For more information about the gear drives and the pre-order process carry on reading, or to place an order visit our store!

Our Story

When I set out to design my own electric mountain board gears drives, I thought it would be a quick and easy job I have a PhD in Electronic Engineering, how hard could it be to design some helical gears to mesh together, right!

Sadly, I was wrong, I started designing my first gear drive prototype in in early 2022 and after going through multiple 3D printed and metal CNC machined prototypes, and 1000s of miles of testing in hard terrain and weather conditions, I have arrived at robust final design that I’m very proud of.

I have maintained a public build log of for the gear drive development, and the amazing electric skateboard building community at esk8 News has had a lot of input into every step of the design process based on shortcomings they have experienced with existing gear drives. If you’re interested, you can see the entire journey here on the esk8 News Forums.

I’m going to continue this development philosophy going forward, all Archer Boards products will continue to advance and improve with input from the community.

E-MTB Gear Drives

The fundamental design goals were to produce a E-MTB gear drive that is: