What should I be looking for when buying a ESC/VESC

As the title says, i’m completely new to this stuff. The motor im planning to use is a 6364 200kv with a max load of around 65amps if that’s important. And the battery i’m planning on using is a 6c 4500mah 30c battery. I have no idea what to do with all this information when it comes to picking the right ESC/VESC that won’t break the bank. Thanks!

2 Likes

There is a calculator on the top that can help with some stuff.

In general, I would stay away from any “dual” ESCs even if running two motors.

The most general guideline on how much power an ESC can handle is its “battery max” current rating, so if an ESC is “50A” or something, that’s referring to this number. The 65A you refer to would be the “motor max” which is generally always higher than or equal to the battery max.

You also want one with good reviews.

Some ESCs require more assembly, like the Cheap FOCer and might be phsyically large, others like the Super mini Maker-X ESC are very small physically

Really it depends what you need.

Cheap, Fast, Good – you get to pick any two. “Fast” generally means it’s something you can buy and not manufacture yourself.

Also things like how much space you have make a big difference, and what country you’re in – your profile doesn’t say.

Also of note is the Flipsky Mini FSESC 4.20

5 Likes

What’s your budget? For me this number dictates a lot…for pretty much anything. Hence the Cheap FOCer.

3 Likes

I don’t want to pay more than 90-100 CAD, as I do not make much.

1 Like

The battery i’m looking at has a Cont discharge of around 90amps. Is that too high? And I’m from Canada

1 Like

no you can use it. its more the device (your vesc/motor) that says how much power it will draw. the battery would be able to draw the 90a if needed. The single Focbox is quite good for your purpose if you can still find one. Also Maytech has some vescs at their site. Also there is the cheap focer :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: