What causes wildly changing values on motor detection?

I’m a Vesc noob, and have wasted hours trying and failing to get a set of hub motors to not crackle and crunch at 50% or more throttle.

Every auto detection I ran would have different resistance, inductance, and manual detection would be the same. each time the values were way different, and i never got the motors to not crunch under 50% throttle.

Here’s two back to back auto detects:

I have another set of even junkier hub motors that I tried, and they actually seem to work OK on Vesc, though on manual detect would still offer different resistance each time.

I’d love to dial in the larger more powerful hubs but had to give up, or risk losing my mind.

1 Like

sometimes vesctool gets confused and you have to try again, your second go looks right.

also make sure you have the correct pole pair count, or number of poles I forget which it asks for

2 Likes

I would be even more concerned with those inductance levels measured. I wouldn’t use these unless you can get detection figured out, and not only look at resistance but make sure the other values measure reasonably close as well.

Not sure if this helps in your case, but I recommend trying to redo detection with every port emptied out other than the hall sensor ports. That can help sometimes.

The default value in vesc tool is probably wrong for hub motors. However this shouldn’t affect anything other than the speed that vesc tool reports.

1 Like

Do detection from the foc or bldc page and wizard auto detect isn’t nearly as accurate. With bigger motors you literally can’t use the wizard auto detect.

Only the sensor ports were filled.

On real time data, unloaded on bench, the MPH is way way off, at least double actual.

I believe i have 20 poles, was setting 10, not the default 14., and 10 inbthe ‘additional info’ menu too.

What motor. Maybe u have wrong amount of pole pairs.