VESC Questions & Tips & tricks

Hi, I’m quite new to VESC and I’ve cumulated some questions. If anyone knows the answer or has some tips & tricks it would be greatly appreciated! I’m using a MakerX DV6s with Radium 6455 175kv motors with 18t motor, 66t wheel pulleys on a 150mm pneumatic wheel, and I weigh about 90kg/200lbs with my bag.

1. Is it normal for the motor to overheat super quick? Or is it just the rather poor choice of using small motors with big pneummies and heavy rider?
  2. I noticed that when going at near max speed and hard braking, there’s hardly any braking at first then around the middle rpm it brakes hard.
  3. I noticed a similar thing with the throttle where it starts off pretty slow(could be due to small motor & heavy rider big wheel). Then in the middle it accelerates and slopes off near the top of the RPM limit.
  4. Sometimes when I try to configure settings through the bluetooth module it reads & writes fine to the esc connected directly to the vesc, but refuses and cuts the connection to the one connected via CANbus. What could be the reason for this?

Aside from this, any tips & tricks would be much appreciated! Perhaps this topic could be a grouped info for new VESC users or new esk8 riders who wants to know the technical deets for their DIY. Thanks in advance!

No, please define what overheat is. I’d say that anything under 80 Celsius is fine, closer to 100 might aslo be ok, depends alot on the motor.
Furthermore, what are you pushing the motors to do? You have pretty decent gear ratio so guessing you’re running a decent amount of current to accomplish any sort of temperature problems?

Tinker with regen current limits and ramping in the vesc tool until you have a breaking profile you like. This is abit like religion to what you’d prefer I’m afraid.

Same thing here, tinker with the ramping. I don’t see why you shouldn’t be able to do a burnout with that setup given theres not obvious bottleneck in power on your board.