Synchronous timing belts [SRO]

Which belts do y’all prefer?

I’ve seen this before…

But generally I just order the correct size from vbeltguys.com

Does anyone know which HTD5M belts actually work better for esk8?

7 Likes

For all you aussies and uk guys and girls these things are great. Continental like the tyres lol.
They last ages and if you break one before 4 they will send you a new one the next day providing you pay for it. :smiley: No but seriously I have been running these for 8 months and they are without a doubt the longest lasting belts I have used thus. Bit pricey but if you are not changing them for twice as long then they are cheap by comparison. Hard to get in the us apparently though so suck shit america. :laughing:
You have no idea with all your easily obtained lovely esk8 bits how long I’ve waited to say that. I’m stuck out here in the colonies but I can get belts.
Ah shit.
Thats all I can get easily.
Still counts.

https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/timing-belts/4746485/

10 Likes

Been running those cheap aliexpress PowGee belts (and similar chinese no name belts) since I started esk8ing and so far (jinx…!) never had a belt snap on me.

5 Likes

Does anybody remember this thread where it explains how to calculate belt length, I cant seem to find it. Also what’s the best material to use. Thx

1 Like

https://www.bbman.com/belt-length-calculator/

?

3 Likes

Thx, got it. I couldn’t find it. I thought it was called CB something… thx again

I think the real question is which of the belts on the chart stretch and which don’t stretch?

6 Likes

Initially I had brought up steel as an alternative to kevlar when I stumbled across them on ebay, thinking that because aramid does poorly in abrasion, that at the radii our belts travel the steel would be less prone to snapping, but B264, actually paying attention to the chart, pointed out glass having the best characteristics overall.