switched to pneumatics and same top speed?

running two tb6380 190kv on a dv6 with a Panasonic 21700 12s4p battery. i have a need for speed so i switched from tb110 wheels to trampa 165 mm urban treads and it still tops out at 40mph. i was hoping for more speed with the benefit of comfort with the pneumatics but now i just have a comfy board with kinda sad torque and nearly half the range. it went from 18/36 to 18/44 so i understand the torque loss but i figured if it could get up to 50ish the torque loss on these long, flat Midwestern roads wouldn’t be a big deal. im thinking its the battery because it’s supposedly rated for 70a max and im running it at 30 per side and it sags pretty bad with both wheels. but i would love a second opinion as im still fairly new to the diy esk8 world.

So you switched from a bad ratio to a slightly better ratio (more torque)

If I were you I would expect about the same speed, which is what you got, except you also switched to bigger wheels, which decreased the ratio even more

It doesn’t seem right for you to get that speed though I would expect higher

1 Like

Plug in all your numbers here:

What’s it give you for Max Speed Loaded (at the very bottom)?

the ratio wasnt bad for what i use the board for. it’s a street board and there isn’t much stop and go around here. but yeah i expected a little more speed and for it to take a little longer to get there but it just doesn’t

i used it before i even bought the wheels because i was trying to figure out how to get more speed on 12s but my old setup was 40mph loaded and the new setup is 50mph loaded. i expected to at least get to 45 but it barely gets to 40 so something has to be bottlenecking right?

1 Like