One Motor Not Spinning After Successful Motor Setup

Hello there,

I currently am running a mountainboard with dual motors (TB 6374) and 2 Torque Boards ESC (Vesc based) and i have been running this system for about 2 years now with no problem until today when i updated my ESC firmware using the VESC Tool.

I ran through the regular motor detection (seems like the new version of VESC Tool only has “Setup Motors FOC”), and everything seemed okay since i got a successful motor detection (both motors were spinning) but when i go to test everything out only one of the motors will spin when i press the throttle.

-Yes i am connected through CAN because the VESC Tool recognizes both of the ESC’s sucessfully.
-I am not running sensored mode.
-I tried to connect the non-spinning motor to the other ESC and the motor works so i know its not a motor issue.

I made a video for a better understanding of the problem: https://youtu.be/ovX8zlqjf6A

Any ideas on whats wrong here?

I’ve had that happen before, not sure what causes it but redoing remote calibration sometimes fixes it, reuploading the firmware on both always works after restarting the program a couple times

2 Likes

@ZachTetra So you think i should re-bind my remote to my reciever?

I tried uploading the firmware individually on both, but what do you mean by restarting the program a couple times?

I am using a GT2B right now, but i also have a VESC Wand i just purchased i am trying to setup (thats why i wanted to upgrade firmware to begin with)

Here is the video i made for a better understanding of whats going on:

Oh shit that’s real strange…hmmm. If anyone would know, maybe @Trampa can shed some light

Try switching which is master and slave? I’ve never seen that issue before

Are those the old TB vescs?

I’ve had this issue before having a vesc blow

1 Like

More suggestions …

1. Check VESC ID of each ESC, make sure they are different.
  2. Make sure you didn’t overwrite both ESC with the same app parameters.