Meepo & Newbee cloning SRB trucks. Same company? (update: answer is no)

Are meepo (which i believe is shenzen here in this china patent. ) and Newbee the same company?

Meepo took @MoeStooge’s work and pantented it in china. i thought that might mean no other china company would also steal the design.

but if they were the same company or if meepo is not the patent filer and newbee is, then that might make sense.

Small business in america gets the shaft either way tho. :frowning:

5 Likes

Was Moe able to get a patent?

1 Like

i’m not sure the details. but i think no.

I think the patent in china also precluded him from working with china manufacturing.

1 Like

Thats for the better otherwise they would have been cloned years ago.
Seems like threaded rods/heim joints/and spherical joints in a rkp configuration might be tough to patent stateside but im no patent lawyer so :person_shrugging:

4 Likes

no, idk about other stuff

1 Like

I hope Moe fires back with his own CNC version of the 3 links. I’d totally support that.

15 Likes

Bouta agree with the @frame meister here. When I saw the patent in the telegram, I thought it was kinda shitty of Meepo. It’s one thing to copy and get inspired from others work but to blatenly steal it like they have done and patent it in china. That’s some BS if I ever seen any. Newbee has always been good to me and I hope they don’t follow the same path. As for @MoeStooge , I’m sorry this is happening to you man. I only hope that you will always get the credit you deserve.

8 Likes

I am prety sure they are not the same company. Meepo has been in the process of copying the 3-link trucks for quite a while… My understanding is Meepo got a set of Stooge 3-link trucks a while back and have been busy reverse engineering them ever since. This is classic MO for Meepo. They just copy other company’s products. They cannot even design TKP trucks properly. I think their version of the 3-link is going to be a disaster.