Loaded unlimited hub motors experience?

Does anyone have experience with loaded unlimited hub motors? They’re pricey, but they have the option to use caguama sleeves, and it looks like they’re a significant step up in quality from standard hub motor options that are currently available (meepo, wowgo, backfire, etc).

I’m wondering how the caguama sleeves feel compared to a normal caguama wheel on a belt drive setup. Love my cags - but hate belts and motor mounts hitting rocks on the ground. By my calcs these are probably ~75kv - anyone know for sure?

Any input is much appreciated.

8 Likes

I recently finished a 4wd with Meepo Hubs. The 100mm Version rides much better than any other China hub I have tried so far. There are also new 105mm cloud wheel hubs out there.

I have no experience with loaded hubs but I’m not sure if they are worth the money without sensors and such a small size. I’m not sure about the quality but I think the current generation China hubs are fine. And even if one dies they are dirt cheep to replace.

6 Likes

@M.Hboards has been using them for a good while now i believe

3 Likes

I have! They are really nicely built, super smooth but don’t have sensors. The wheel sleeves are also nice and and are absolutely a step up from the ones found on standard China hub motors.

Are they worth $400 for a pair? That’s debatable…

7 Likes

I haven’t used them, but “more copper” is a much better use of space than “sensor assemblies” IMHO

3 Likes

The adaptability on and truck you like sounds like a huge plus too,
Does it works well or do you have to rescrew them avere now and then ?

2 Likes

Bolted them on once and never looked back!

2 Likes

@M.Hboards Legit - thanks for the info.

I saw that you have caguamas on your baby blue build as well. How would you compare the ride quality between the two boards? Is there really any noticeable difference? And, what downsides have you run into with not having sensors on the loaded hubs?

1 Like