First time Build - Started today with my core

So today marks the beginning of my very first build. I am sure there are a lot of trials and tribulations to come but I’m excited to get this thing going.

Today was the form creation for my core as well as pouring the core out of 2 part high strength epoxy. Once this cures I’ll sand and prep and then attach and shape my custom battery enclosure. Then it all will get 2 layers of glass and 2 layers of blue carbon fiber. Then I’ll start making the 12s8p battery.

I’m a newb but pretty experienced in all manners of building / tinkering so y’all don’t hesitate to jump in and tell me if I’m being dumb haha. Processing: IMG_2821.jpeg…
Uploading: IMG_2820.jpeg…
Uploading: IMG_2819.jpeg…
Uploading: IMG_2815.jpeg…
Uploading: IMG_2813.jpeg…

6 Likes

Wait until the images finish uploading before clicking post

Gotcha, thought they would load / post when done. I’ll try again. Thanks

10 Likes

Alright, I’m invested.

4 Likes

Holy fuck that’s gonna be heavy… and flat :sweat_smile:

4 Likes

Yeah it’s gonna have some heft haha. Quite a bit of what you see will be sanded down and then I’ll mate my enclosure to it once I get it leveled and clean.

I actually wanted a flat board, I bought a drop down deck and wasn’t happy with how it felt under my feet with the curves etc plus my battery I’m making I wanted it to be under mount so I figured I’d just make my own instead and see how it goes. Worst case scenario I switch to a pre made board and learn a valuable lesson haha.

3 Likes

Thanks man! I’ll keep posting pics and such. Right now I’m working out how best to make my battery packs so I can start making that up while I wait for this thing to cure for the next few days before I start the wrap.

2 Likes

Resin core is different tho, any reason you didn’t use something like plywood?

1 Like