Feedback request for Caliber motor mount

Morning all!

My name is Jamie, I’m a mechanical engineering student from the UK. I’m currently in the process of building my first ESK8 which will be a commuter longboard. The project log with regular progress updates can be found here: Building an Electric Longboard | Hackaday.io

During my research and sourcing, I’ve come across a problem. I’m sure I’m not the first to encounter this. In the UK, it is rather difficult to source high quality Caliber motor mounts. Those currently available and in-stock on the market are either unbelievably expensive, have high overseas shipping fees, or are cheap chinesium generic mounts which look like a recipe for a hospital trip.

I have decided to design and manufacture my own motor mount, with a focus on being as feature-rich as possible for maximum adjustability and versatility, whilst being low cost to manufacture. After a few design revisions, and conversations with machinists to assess the producibility, I have this:

I would love to receive some feedback on the design, as I am hoping to produce a small batch and sell these to members of the community.

Please let me know your thoughts!

5 Likes

Just get a set of boardnamics idler mounts

4 Likes

20220930_192226

This angers me

7 Likes

That’s my main inspiration for this design. However, at $35 each, with another $35 shipping I figured I’d like to produce my own .

With respect to the corner that angers you, could you explain what is wrong with it? It’s only there due to the way I constructed the slot geometry and is an easy fix.

1 Like

I’ve personally found that with an idler on only one side I get belt skipping when the other side (without the idler) gets engaged. I suggest modifying your design to accept dual idlers in case you experience the same issue.

I’d close this up. Adds a lot of strength and does not affect producibility.