Custom Generative Designed Truck Project

I got frustrated with the cheap hobbyking motor mount that I bought and fitted to a Paris RKP truck that I modified. It worked ok, and I did nearly 300km on the board before I shredded the first belt, but I realised that the wear was caused by misalignment due to the motor mount moving on the hanger over time. The shaft of the motor didn’t stay parallel to the axle. It was because of this that I decided to design my own truck.

Initially I considered machining the entire hanger and motor mount out of a single billet, but it would be awkward and a waste of material, so I instead opted to machine a flange into the hanger, and bolt on a motor mount plate. This would ensure precise alignment of the belt.

I work in the CAD industry, and one of the exciting technologies experiencing rapid growth at the moment is Generative Design. If you’re not familiar with this tech, it basically involves defining a mechanical problem in the form of loads and constraints, and allowing a computer algorithm to iteratively generate a structure that fulfills the criteria of the design scenario. The latest generation of this technology takes into account materials and manufacturing methods, to ensure the generated result can be manufactured.

I have access to a 3-axis CNC milling machine, so that was the method I used for the first design. I chose to use 6061 grade aluminium.
Here is the shape that the software came up with.

I then generated the toolpaths for machining it (I use Autdoesk Fusion 360) and machined it in a few stages. First on the CNC mill, and then turning the ends on my Dad’s manual lathe.

I soon realised this design had some pretty serious flaws. There wasn’t enough ground clearance, and I wasn’t happy with the load cases. I refined these, and came up wit a 5-axis version which ticked more boxes. A friend with a 5-axis machine offered to make it for me, which will be happening soon. Here are some pictures from the CAD.