[Big Boi] MBS Comp 90 | 10S4P | 6374 170kV | FSESC 4.12

This is my second build, the first one is not worth mentioning and lasted less than a week. I’m really new at this and have zero experience in skateboards, i have no idea of what i’m doing.

Board

I found a 2013 MBS Comp 90 on leboncoin.fr (french craigslist) for 75€, the guy used it in a field to train for kitesurfing.

• MBS vector Trucks
  • 8" MBS T3 tires
  • 2 MBS twiststar hubs, swapped two for MBS Rockstar II for the transmission mounting points.

Battery

A friend found a 10S4P bike li-ion battery pack made of LG 18650 MH1, so 12800 mAh. I didn’t asked where it came from and it was already perfectly balanced (insert Thanos meme here).

I put a 10S 60A common port BMS and use a 5A charger, 10 cycles and nothing to report.

ESC

On my first build i used a prepacked ESC with build-in switch and receiver. This time i wanted to try the VESC so i ordered a Flipsky 4.12 FSESC. Had to find a Korean dude that uploded a VESC tool version that was compatible with it, lot of fun.

Motor & transmission

A unbranded 6374 170kV whith hall sensor. But a pin of the JST connector broke off so i run unsensored, will fix that next week.

Motor mount and transmission from Overion, the dude is awesome and had everything i needed, even for old vector trucks. The transmission is a 10/42.

Receiver & remote

Now the shady part. The receiver is an arduino nano with built in RF module.

I looked at many githubs and found the codes to be very good but very complex and with a lot of features i don’t really need. So like most programmers i know, i did y own better shitty version because i think i know more than other people.

So the receiver connect to the remote via the build in RF module and just send a PWM signal to the ESC, keep it simple.