Belt tension, how much?

I didn’t know this, in fact I am one of those that put way too much tension on my best.

How much is too much you’re asking me? Imagine one foot on the truck while one hand is pulling on the motor as I tighten the motor in place! :joy:

After watching this, I feel like a complete noob! There are some good points in there I didn’t consider too.

2 Likes

Loose as I can without slipping. Can depend on pulleys and motor mount length however

11 Likes

You want it as loose as possible, without it skipping when you slam on the brakes really hard from a medium speed. Just tight enough to not skip then.

3 Likes

the decel reason is a bit of a stretch. :smiley:

I just got done losing my timing-belt with enough sog (I just made this up :joy:) and def no slipping. I kind of did a pinch test on both side to make sure they are equally tension.

Also having less tension on the motor will definitely help extend its life.

2 Likes

I’ve had a lot of slippage during breaking. I guess it comes down to priorities. I like to go fast but I’m usually near intersections and people, so reliable and effective breaking is more important than range or coasting.

3 Likes

I have this motor mount for a board with a single motor and no matter how tense I put the belt when I brake hard it always skips. I have given up and I’m building a gear drive board now.

Got a photo?

1 Like

It’s not as tense as I though, I could thight it more

1 Like

It looks too loose. Do you have a photo from the top down?

When you turn the wheel by hand forward, and turn it by hand backward, does the belt track to opposite sides? How far?

Your motor pulley is small compared to your wheel pulley. So you could try a longer mount and belt which would change the angle and engage more teeth. But an idler pulley would probably be better. This is also a reason to go to two motors. You double the surface area for breaking. Does your motor get hot. Looks like a lot of mads for just one.