Alpine skateboard

I’ve been snowboarding in hard boots for a long time, and ever since I started playing with e-skates last summer, I’ve been wanting to mix the two. This might be the best idea I’ve ever had. (Also, it might be the worst idea I’ve ever had.)

Here’s the “deck.” It’s a 4080 (4cm x 8cm) aluminum extrusion from 8020.net.

To attach the trucks, a couple pieces of alumimum. Drawn in OpenScad on a Saturday, uploaded to SendCutSend.com on Sunday, and they were in my hands on Wednesday. What a time to be alive.

Trucks:

(They are backward. And inverted. It all cancels out.)

I won’t be using these wheels, but they were handy and not attached to another board, so…

The next iteration of the skateplates will have counter-sunk screws, which will double the ground clearance.*

Bindings:

Last but not least, places for my feets:

The battery (12s7p) will go into a box between the bindings. Stormcore 60 on top of the battery. Cables will run back to the motors in sleeves that attach to the grooves on the sides of the extrusion. And the more I think about this the more I think I should have ordered a second motor mount along with those trucks, because double the motors would be double the fun.

The battery is a few weeks away. Progress will be slow until it gets here.

• An exaggeration, but not a large one.
16 Likes

Very cool project! Always wanted to try hardbooting.
Pretty interesting way to mount the trucks, should work as long as you have clearance.

1 Like

Thanks! I have less clearance than I expected, but I think it’ll work. Countersinking is honestly going to help a bit. :slight_smile: I don’t think it will need a lot, since this won’t get used much outside of parking lots, parking garages, etc.

And part of the idea behind this build is to be able to switch things around. Flip the beam over, flip the trucks around, swap the bindings for aluminum plates with grip tape… Boom, it’s almost a normal board! Maybe. We’ll see.

2 Likes