Vesc tool configuration

[GR] Hi everybody, forgive my ignorance, I am new in this stuff. I am upgrading my board with two Maytech ESC’s 50A. The board has 10S5P batterie. Everything is connected and running. I am just not sure about the current settings and I am

afraid to fry the Esc. That’s why some input from more experienced builders would be very appreciated.

1 Like

Do you know what type of cells are used for the battery?

You may want to lower your motor current max to 50A.

Definitely lower your “battery current max regen”. Around -15A should be safe for your setup. (That’s max 30A regen for dual setup or 6A per cell.) If the brakes feel too weak, you may go a little lower. Personally I wouldn’t go below -20A though.

I forgot to mention. They are Samsung 35E

Thanks a lot

Is there a danger for the battery if below - 20, or would the breaking be just to strong?

It’s bad for the battery. You will want to find a good balance between the braking current and the reliability of the brakes. If the brakes feel too weak, increase the braking current but ideally avoid braking too hard when riding unless inevitable. Avoiding an accident is obviously more important than not damaging the battery.

Edit: https://electric-skateboard.builders/t/how-to-safely-calculate-max-regen-current/89008

… it is a good idea to run higher than conservative if it means you will not crash into something at high speed due to not enough brakes. It may just shorten the cycle life of the battery instead of your own life.

:laughing: @LR-designs

2 Likes

:sweat_smile:OK thanks

From what I can find the max discharge of samsung 35e is 8 A, you are using 5p (5 parallel groups) so that would mean the battery can supply 40 amps continious maximum. So Battery Current max = 40A. However, I guess you can set it a little higher though, what do you think @janpom?

1 Like