VESC slow throttle response?

Hi, I’m quite new to handling VESC and I come from an Exway. I just got most/everything working but on a bench test, it seems like the throttle response is very slow on the vesc. I think response is ok but the ramp up is very slow. I have tried messing with the ramp up setting and even put it to 0 but it still sees a bit slow compared to the exways or what I’m used to. Is this normal or is there a setting I must change? Thanks.

I’m running Radium 6455 motors with a MakerX DV6s, and Flipsky VX4 remote. The motors are running in FOC mode.

2 Likes

Increasing motor amps and throttle expo will give you more launch

I’ve got 80A per side going to my Radium 6455s.

2 Likes

Alright! Will try that. How’s 80A on those motors in terms of heat?
Also, could I ask what you have your ramp up time as? Thank you.

Heat wise mine are fine but theyre the front motors on a 4wd setup. So on 2wd they will definitely get hotter.
I’m running 20% throttle expo but again, on a 4wd board.

What remote are you using? I’ve found remotes with smaller throws “ramp” faster, and certain remotes have a higher built in default curve.

I was actually having a similar problem after switching to a different remove than the voyager. Upping the throttle curve helped a bunch. I run natural throttle type, but I think exponential will help as well

1 Like

Oh that makes sense. I use a Flipsky VX4 and I think the throw is pretty short. I’m not sure if it has an integrated curve but it’s easier to show by video.

Is that kmh? And how fast does it ramp up if you full throttle it from the start?

That is Km/h and I haven’t full sent it as the battery situation is a bit sketch atm. I will send it once the battery’s fully built and insulated

1 Like

Gotcha. Try upping the throttle curve to 20% as well. I think it’s in app > uart remote > throttle curve