vert sk8 for a longboarder

I’m a long time longboarder and esk8er of a few years, and previously a snowboarder, wakeboarder, kiteboarder and mountainboarder.

looking to learn about vert skating. I’ve got a LY Hatchet to practice on (cruiser with double kick) is that enough or should I pick up a dedicated vert board?

what should I start with? braille vids?

what should I avoid?

Please open my eyes to what vert can do, and how I should learn to do it.

4 Likes

Don’t hesitate when you drop in. Go 100% or don’t go at all.

Wear knee pads and elbow pads. Start on mini ramps at skateparks and work your way up to the bigger bowls. If you have access to a vert ramp, you can learn by just pumping the walls, and slowly working your way up to the coping as you gain speed.

Damn… you’re making me nostalgic for high school sessions at vans skate part in Milpitas.

4 Likes

I have very little experience at it myself, I can drop in pretty confidently, I CAN ollie despite my stickers that say otherwise, and I can juuuuust barely manual here and there without busting my ass.
That said, I hate popsicle decks and nose tails in general. Nose tails are my cryptonite, I end up hitting em with my front foot and getting thrown straight at the ground. End of disclaimer, advice time.