Power loss with Meepo Gear Drive?

So I tried out the Meepo/Linnpower gear drive on my Hurricane. It was terrible. Loss of power on both the low and top ends compared to belts using 15t/60t and 165mm tubeless wheels. Based on the gear ratio of 13t/55t on the gear I though it would be about the same but it wasn’t. Even going to the next speed/braking mode didn’t cut it.

Has anyone had a similar experience with the Meepo/Linnpower gear drive?

It really shouldn’t be a significant change but im no expert. Could it be that the belts with a higher gear ratio (vs the gear drive at a lower ratio) are able to get you more torque starting making it feel more punchy.

What is your weight? Wheel size? Do the gear drive’s come pre assembled? What terrain do you ride?

2 Likes

If you’re really losing that much power due to drag, something in the drives should be getting very hot. Maybe feel around to confirm?

5 Likes

How hard is your backlash? can you spin your wheels with your hand or do then stop instantly?
You should have bit better torque low end with the gear drives.

Guessing wheelsize still the same?

2 Likes

i had the opposite experience, my meepo gear drive feels more punchy off the line, and i can brake hard to a point where i skid on 165 tire

1 Like

It’s actually 13t/56t, and no, I do not experience what you described on any of the five sets of linnpower drives I got. The only downside for me is the lack of gear ratio tuning, which limits the number of setups I can run sensibly on these, and so far, I’ve had zero issues with any of the promised performances. Perhaps you received a faulty set or installed these incorrectly?

1 Like

I think they were installed correctly. They free roll pretty well. One side is rougher than the other for sure and had a rough ratcheting feel that the other side doesn’t have. I think the rattling noise is normal.