NuVoL CityRunner V1

Hi everyone, my name’s Stefan, I’m an architect and I’m from Bucharest

Together with my friend Adrian who’s a last year student at polytechnics university (electronics) we upgraded my original eskating.eu 10s3p single motor kit to a dual motor 10s5p 11.5kg board great for city riding and commuting.

I’ll also add a small history to explain some of the decisions and hopefully give you guys some insights into the process and the lessons learned

So I got the original kit from Alberto in july 2018 and until last year I probably put around 4k miles on it mostly using it as a commuter board in Bucharest (9km round trip to my office) and weekend joyrides

I got a cheap “mall brand” wooden board that lasted me for about 2 years but I felt it started to wear down especially on the front where it got a lot of impacts and started vibrating strangely which told me I needed to upgrade it.

So in 2020 I upgraded to Landyachtz Switchblade 40 which looks pretty cool and it did give me a lot more “feel” for the movements of the board and trucks

But it came with 2 downsides that I didn’t initially consider: weight, it probably added 2 kg extra and stifness - it became a less comfortable board to ride. Switchblades are very stiff boards apparently

A few months later, after multiple problems with the original 4.12 50A Maytech VESC which in the end had a DRV failure, I “upgraded” to SuperFOC 6.8 50A Maytech VESC which kind of solved the issues with the cutoffs (but not entirely)
from this:

to this

I think the problem with the cutoffs was the fact that I kept a pretty aggressive setting in the VESC, going for 50 amps for the battery max which even though should be the max setting it seems that in reality maytechs and flipsky small VESCs like this need to be configured more conservative (40-45amps)