Nano16s super tiny configurable BMS

I am currently developing a BMS which features some exciting stuff and want some design input from you guys.

Features:

1. Nano size: 21703.6mm.
  2. 5-16s configurable via PCwritetool.
  3. Balance current: 45mA .
  4. Super affordable $20+.
  5. Balancing led indicator.
  6. 15A charge current.

Background

Nowadays, VESC comes with integrated power switch, therefore a traditional BMS with discharge control is really redundant and even dangerous, cause it may decouples the battery from the ESC when the regenerative current kicks hard and trigger the OV protection in the BMS, some cheap Asian BMS amazon has been reported to be unreliable, I have some experience in designing BMS ,that’s why I am starting this Nano16s project.

Progress

Now I have made the first version of it and sent it to SMT, samples be available in end of May

Pictures

Proposal layout 1 with balancing indicators on the top
Configurable values and PCwritetools

31 Likes

looks good
tracking

2 Likes

Looking forward to seeing how beta-testing goes, good luck!

I would love to see a button or link on that settings screen that brings you to a page with a short explanation of each acronym/setting. That will save you from having to respond to a ton of questions and will help reduce mistakes made by users.

9 Likes

Questions
1.Do you want a sandwich aluminum CNC casing if it costs 10$ extra and make the total thickness to be 5mm
2.Is 15A charge really a thing? what kind of charger you guys use for fast charging?

6 Likes

15a charging could be considered slow for a good portion of the batteries around these parts

8 Likes

In the PCwritetool, it explains the value when you mouse over it

10 Likes

What is the estimated max component/junction temperature (or design goal) for the board in an enclosed space without the aluminum case, assuming worst case balancing resistor heat load?