Nagini | Build Journal

Welcome to the journal of Nagini, my first electric skateboard build log.

I figured rather than spamming Pictures & Nothing Else, I’ll collate my progress here.

Prior to joining this forum, I begun my development log here. I will continue to post in parallel, where a more polished format of my progress will be posted on Hackaday, and this thread will serve as a place for more regular updates and discussions.

The journey begins with my commute. I’m a degree apprentice, meaning I work 4 days a week and study for 1. Thankfully I have the luxury of working from home, however I still have to attend Uni in person, and aim to get into the office once a week also.

The problem with this is, I live a 45 min drive away from both work but I don’t drive. Thanks to COVID I never got round to having lessons until recently. The solution? A 10 minute bus, then an hour bus, then a 15 minute walk. Anyone in the UK will know how much of a fucking nightmare the buses are…

And don’t get me started on my Uni commute. It’s the same 10 min bus, then a 1.5hr journey. The bus is always crammed, so 90% of the time I can’t get a seat at 50% of the time I cant even board. So I’m almost always late.

I figured it would be more fun to skate, so I replaced my first bus with a 20 min skate down one long cycle path. The good news is it is downhill on the way there. The bad news is it’s uphill on the way back. Unfortunately there’s not much I can do about the bus to work, but I realised if i get a 20 min train to one town, there’s a lovely cycle path leading straight from the train station to Uni. So that takes half an hour in nice weather to skate.