Motor suggestions, 4WD, 20s

Soon I will be building a 4WD MTB board (9inch tyres). I’m going to run this at 20s. Now I am looking for motors, but I want some input from the community.

The motors will be mounted on the Finality AT Gear Drive. I still have the option to go for 1: 4 or 1: 5 and 8 or 10mm axle (but I prefer 10mm).

I’m thinking of going for 6364 or 6374. But I don’t see many options to choose from.

This APS motor has my interest, 130kV would give me a speed of 70km/h. But I am looking for alternatives…

5 Likes

This one is also 130kv and is sealed (looks like a maytech)

btw. what esc are you going to use at 20s ?

4 Likes

https://land-surf.com/products/xcell™-turbine™-series-6542-motor-hypertrucks-fit

63100 140KV Sensored Version Brushless Motor for Electric Skateboard s – Ant Innovation Technology Co., Ltd. i think they do kv customization on 4pcs

2 Likes

Yes, it is a Maytech motor. I think I go for open motors when I go for maytech … I have some bad experience with maytech closed motors.

Stormcore 100D

Looks like a great motor but at a high price.

Thanks! Let me check those :slight_smile:

I thought they recommend 18s? I was wondering why they called it 100 when they don’t run it even close to that.

4 Likes

After seeing this geezer, I’m wondering whether there could be any practical need to go bigger than 4x 6374s. Just getting the most out of those alone will get you through 4 new soft, wide tyres every 100 km and you’ll need the core physique of a Greek God.

Whatever happened to those ReacherTech motors? I think @3DServisas was messing around with them. Can’t remember who else. Are they up to scratch?

1 Like

hey @Brently I found you a buddy

2 Likes

def following - would love to know how many A you plan on running through the stormys at 20S and why

edit - gotta be honest you might wana use a diff motor than APS - I’ve broken quite a few, and while they do replace them, it takes weeks/months sometimes.

1 Like