Molicel P42A 20s8p (Part 3) - Buying The Parts Thread

Hello guys. I’m buying the parts now. I’m starting with the battery cells. Since it’s going to be 20s8p, that’ll be 160 cells. My friend told me to buy 200 cells just in case there’s bad cells. Do I really need to order 40 extra cells or is he just telling me to buy extra so he has some for himself for a range extender or to add an external power booster? LOL. I would understand 170 or even 180 but 200? LOL.

This is my first time buying cells so I’m not sure how much of the cells are usually DOA. So yeah. Thanks.

Here’s the parts list:

Cell: Molicel/NPE INR-21700-P42A 4200mAh 21700 Battery - Authorized Dealer – Liion Wholesale Batteries

Copper: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08NW9TLG9/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A2DQX36AME1WW3&psc=1

Wires: 8 AWG Bulk Roll Silicone Wire Priced for Per Foot - Black

Solder: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B075WB98FJ/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?
smid=A25N4YN27ERTBB&psc=1

Soldering Station: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07RVMZNYR/ref=ox_sc_act_title_5?smid=A3W1GP4TQNGUVI&psc=1

Solder Flux: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008ZIV85A/ref=ox_sc_act_title_4?smid=AKJ57Q9VZBBO8&psc=1

Kapton Tape: https://www.amazon.com/Temperature-Kapton-Professional-Protecting-Circuit/dp/B08NY4914D/ref=sr_1_21?
crid=V8F985HHRAI3&keywords=kapton%2Btape&qid=1707066038&sprefix=kapton%2Btape%2Caps%2C120&sr=8-21&th=1

BMS: JBD Smart BMS 6~22S 6S 8S 16S 20S 22S 250A Li-ion Lithium Battery PCB for Freeshipping - Jiabaida BMS

Some of those, I already have. The ones I don’t have are the BMS and the Cells. Let me know what you guys think of the BMS and how much cells I should be buying.

Thank you.

2 Likes

I forgot about the shrink wrap and the fish paper. I’ll look for it some other time but when I find them, I’ll leave the link here for future people who are planning on building their own batteries.