High Voltage(?) build based on MBS Comp 95 [EU]

Doing my first build and was aiming for a eMTB with a lot of torque to play around with on mountainbike trails and break som bones in a skate park.
Trying to source as much as I can within Europe.
Would appreciate your help and suggestions since I have zero experience outside other peoples posts and youtube clips…

Base: A complete MBS Comp 95… Matrix 2 trucks, bindings etc…

ESC: Spintend UBOX

Battery: LiPo 16S. 5Ah or more…

Motor mounts: IDEAS v7.8 he does not have a webpage but he does have a facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/ideatb

Motors: Low kV ???

Questions:

What motors would you suggest? Have you maybe used a motor together with a “high voltage” VESC?

Does the F5 bindings work well with smaller feet? I´m a size 39-40. If not, any suggestions?

What charging solution do you use for charging multiple LiPo at the same time?

Any comments / thoughts based on experience is greatly appreciated.

Have an awesome day :slight_smile:
/Peter

2 Likes

I would say yes as you can adjust both sides of the binding frame and not only one like on other bindings.

I personally do not like to charge lipos parallel.
If you run 1p only anyway you can just get a 16s charger and a 16s bms and charge them in series. Don’t forget to charge the pack up to 3.7-3.9V for storage. Everything above or below will reduce your lipo cycle life.

1 Like

I dont see any reason you need more then 12s for your application

2 Likes

best lipos
or maybe tattu if you want

16s for slower riding on trails isnt necessary

The reason >12S appeals to me is that I can use very low kV motors for a lot of torque.
While the higher voltage allows me to keep some of the top speed for shorter durations (risk over heat or over spinn the motors).

For me it´s all theoretical at the moment since no one I know rides eMTB so I can´t try it. Maybe I should start with 2x6s battery and try. If I´m not pleased with the topspeed I can easily add another one.