F-Of-C - open-source Free-Of-Charge vesc6 board in development. Schematics available

F-Of-C

Version 0.1
So this is the open source Free-Of-Charge board I’m trying to develop.
All components well stocked and cheap at jlcpcb / lcsc.

SCHEMATICS and KiCad files on F-Of-C github.

This is my first shot at Kicad, so please give me some feedback…

15 Likes

should be hard to put shamans board and yours in a comparative test

1 Like

Interesting! Do I remember you posted some open source stuff in the past?

Do you have a layout/PCB file? I bought this into KiCAD but couldn’t find one.

2 Likes

No, sorry, not yet. That’s what I’m about to do, unless you want to do it for me :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Im a complete amateur dude, I wouldn’t be able to do a layout but I am keen to maybe make a couple of these and see what happens

2 Likes

I might make a couple as well. Can you tell us what you expect the pros and cons to be relative to Shaman’s Cheap FOCer 3?

3 Likes

I’m interested in making a few.

1 Like

Schematic looks tidy :clap:
2 layer PCB for all those amps sounds like abit of a stretch :sweat_smile:

Any snapshots of the power layout? Overall curious how you solved both logic and power on only 2 layers without accomodating a dedicated gnd plane. :thinking:

2 Likes

OK, so thanks to a couple of serious foc-guys I already got a lot of feedback:

• 80 kHz cut off freq of current sensing is on the low side. It can go as high as 1.5 mHz apparently.
  • The gain of 50 for the TP181 is high (I knew that but now confirmed). I will go for an op-amp solution instead with a gain of 20.

Also got a lot of suggestions for components, and I might change some stuff. I like to go with tested components.

Thank you.
I will change some stuff and update the schematics before continuing with layout.

2 Likes