crappy board upgrade (first build)

noob here, hoping to jump onto the eskate scene and was looking into bulding my first board over the last 2 wks. well…long story short, was going to wait until payday to purchase parts when i came across a used electric skateboard for next to nothing …literally…

no info on specs atm, but guessing:
1x 5055 brushless motor (no idea on KV)
1x 6s1p li-ion battery
83mm wheels
(no info on pulley /gear ratios…yet to remove)
27" long, 8" wide
24/36V Single Motor Electric System Driver Noninductive Longboard Skateboard Controller Remote ESC Substitute - 36V (…this is just a guess looking at the components on the board)…

had quick ride on it…and it’s alo quicker than i thought…all seemed ok until i was told i need to charge it.
now, guessing the board use to connect to the battery is the BMS and have to disconnect the esc and connect the balance to the battery…(kinda jerry-rigged!..ignore the photo, i connected the bms to the xt60 from the battery end lol)

havent had much time to take apart properly to check all the parts but looks like the battery enclosure is coming loose…still unsure if swelling what?? …

let me know your thoughts… obviously wont be keeping as is long term…but for now try to improve on the basics:
-replace battery (suppose this is what i need - https://uk.dhgate.com/product/6s1p-5000mah-22-2v-li-ion-battery-pack-22/417556777.html?f=bm|GMC|pla|236117068|16091357788|417556777|pla-296303633664|103006001|GB|ecodream|c|2|&utm_source=pla&utm_medium=GMC&utm_campaign=ecodream&utm_term=417556777&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIkIq3xK6k6gIVmKztCh0Oxw2NEAQYBCABEgJh0_D_BwE)
-replace charger (any suggestions on charger)
-install bms/charging port in enclosure
-install battery indicator

4 Likes

Step 1: ensure board will not explode under your feet. (Pretty sketchy)

Step 2: wait and save up until you can build a new board altogether. Ride that in the meantime.

Step 3: harvest motor, throw the rest in the trash.

Welcome to the community!