Budget mini beach/campus crusier

Hello, I hope I am in the right place. I just thought that I would log my first diy electric skateboard. Most of the parts were ordered from Amazon and other online retailers. This is a budget board, put together for cruising around campus and parks. This is my first attempt at this kind of project and wanted to share.

The deck is a 30" Surfskate inspired mini deck with a nice kick-tail. I am running 83mm- 485 watt hub motors. I took apart the hubs and replaced the cheap bearings with higher quality. The Esc is a 36 V dual motor with a Universal thumb-wheel remote. The battery is a Meepo V4/ V4s shuffle at 36v 10s2p. The trucks are dual kingpin with medium-soft bushings. The hubs are 83 mm with half inch riser pads to stabilize the 96mm front wheels from Maxfind.

I cut an plastic battery enclosure in half to mount the esc and figure out an enclosure for the Meepo battery. I decided to use foam, double sided tape and eye hooks for the enclosure. I fastened the eye hooks in the case and on the board with zip ties. Its not a permanent solution but it works for now.

Overall it was pretty straight forward build and I really like the Mini fish board design.

Future plans are to build a more enclosed enclosure but build it to include this 10s1p battery with a xt60 splitter. For now, I will be sticking with just the Meepo battery for testing.

Estimated 16-18 mph and a range on the single 10s2p of 11 miles. Thanks for checking it out!

21 Likes

Thats a cute lil campus cruiser. Sinple and clean, i like it!

3 Likes

A cheap but more secure way to attach the enclosure to the board would be to use some small angle brackets. I’d add three to each side on the battery cover in about the same spots you added the eye hooks. That way if the adhesive fails on the battery you can trust the enclosure to hold up the weight of the battery