Bicycle clips as bindings?

Hello! So I am relatively new to the mountain boarding community and I have been DIYing a board.

I love to tinker around despite my small budget to do so and I haven’t been able to spend the money for a good pair of MBS bindings. So, I went for some velcro ones from Alibaba, long story short, they aren’t ideal and I have been looking for a new cheap DIY solution that is more reliable than what I have.

Recently I have been looking at new types of already made bindings that I might be able to find in thrift stores or garage sales and the such that is similar to a binding. Like Snowboarding boots, ski shoes, rollerblades, and most recently bike clips.

I was recently given these two pairs of bike shoes that clip into the pedals of your bike so you don’t slip off

and while I don’t have high hopes for these since they come off by twisting, I was wondering what the capabilities of these could be and maybe I can just wear these shoes while I ride?

Has anyone else tried using bicycle clips as bindings?

3 Likes

This is a pretty wacky idea, I love it. I’ll be interested to hear how it turns out.

One problem I see right off the bat is foot fatigue caused by standing on the clips for an extended period of time. On a bike, most of your weight is usually supported by the seat, and you are only pushing down with the balls of your feet to pedal. On an esk8, you are standing your full weight on the board, and balancing your heel-side and toe-side pressure is very important.

I can see these clips getting in the way of that, and being very uncomfortable to stand on for a long period of time.

4 Likes

Maybe make a riser that the clips sit in so your foot is supported by a level or concave surface?

2 Likes

It’s a really novel idea but I notice that people struggle to walk in these things so I’d be surprised if they’d be comfortable enough to handle riding even short distances.

I’d love for you to check though :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: