Backfire Zealot S Battery Rebuild (<$200)

After about 2 years, 300+ charge cycles, and ~1200km of riding, my belts broke and my battery started to go downhill. Fast. If you have similar issues I hope that this thread will help you if you’re a DIY-er like me.

I embarked on this project as a studying MechE, interested in learning more about BMS and electronics. This was my first battery build, and I have to thank my electrical engineering friend Mazen for helping me purchase the right parts. I was able to build this in my EV FSAE teams’ shop, so I also already had access to all the tools required.

I suggest you READ the whole writeup before you purchase your cells; there are a few tips to guide you throughout.

For insurance purposes, I have to state that I am by no means an expert at this, and if you follow this guide, you do so at your own risk. You assume full responsibility.

With that out of the way, let me begin with some of the symptoms:

1. Reduced range
  2. Board shutting off
  3. Random buzzing on the remote
  4. Lack of power under 50% battery
  5. Weird smells around the battery area
  6. A crack in the battery casing (in my case, unrelated to the failure of pack)

I experienced all of the above, but any of these signs will be a sign that your battery is beginning to go downhill. Let’s begin.

Tools required:

• 4mm Allen key (5/32 works too)
  • K-Weld or similar battery spot welder
  • Glue for the crack + temp sensor
  • Electronic grade silicone for NVH
  • Kapton High Temp Tape
  • Soldering Iron + Solder
  • Nickel strip (1-2m)
  • Side cutters
  • Xacto knife or razor blade
  • Multimeter
  • 21700 batteries
  • Time (4-5 hours)
  • Cost ($150-200 [cells only])