are these sensor cables that came with my vesc?

Hello.

i’m converting an eovan over as their customer support wasn’t the best and the company has since went down. I bought a mboards dv4s and it came with some connectors and cables. i’m new to this and don’t know what’s what. some of its pretty obvious eg. the bullet connectors, power button, bluetooth connector etc. I have some cables which I have no idea what they are for.

i’m planning on using the original eovan motors and need to convert them to use bullet connectors and sensor cables. the bullet connectors are easy enough but I don’t know what sensor cable goes in each pin of the connector as well as if the wires that were included were motor sensor cables.

thanks

these are the different cables that came with the vesc

6 pin cable: sensors

4 pin cable: power button

3 pin cable: remote

8 pin: eludes me right now, what features does your esc/motors have?

5 Likes

Probably UART

3 Likes

the 4 pin is a power button? the vesc came with a power button and it has 3 pin connector.

what is uart? cant seem to find alot of info in one spot.

as for the sensor cables do they have to mounted in the connector in a certain order or is it correct that there’s only 2 important ones and the rest can be random?

Save yourself the headache and use Amass brand MR60 connectors instead of trash bullet connectors. Soldering ability is a prerequisite for these types of repairs.

wouldn’t mr60 connectors also need to be soldered?

1 Like

You need to find a pin-out for your esc

Look for the model number on your esc & google it + pinout, if nothing comes back maybe email the company asking for one. Or crack the case open & see if pinout is printed onto the pcb

It could be the case that the 4pin header on the esc is for the power button & the button supplied is only 3 pin. The missing pin is likely for Illumination, if your button doesn’t look like it has an LED in it that makes sense.