When Community Members Sell Services

For the sake of argument and to get this discussion going, let’s say I want to start selling battery packs here on esk8.news. No, I have no experience building batteries, but I do have a soldering iron, a ton of extra Energizer AAAs and a good heart.

Because I’m only doing this as a favor to you all and not as a real business, I don’t feel like I need to post pictures or proof that what I’m offering is safe or reliable. But if you absolutely insist on this, here’s a picture of me building a battery:

Any takers?

Point being, right now anyone can sell their services here on esk8.news. On one hand, this is an essential part of innovation in DIY, and can lead to a slew of killer parts and services being made available to us here. Without this, we might not have easy access to the sexy goodness that Sender, Rey8801, RedEmber, Moon, BigBen and so many others are offering.

On the other hand, it can also lead to people with good intentions offering parts or services that are not up to the task and depending on the application, possibly being dangerous to community members.

So the question remains, is it possible to make sure that services or parts offered here are of a certain standard of quality without stifling innovation and entrepreneurship?

I’m going to share a few options which may or may not suck, and I would love to hear what ideas or thoughts the greater community can offer:

1. Should step-by-step process pictures be mandatory? (Some may balk at this because it may reveal their “secret sauce.”)

2. Should there be a small group of experienced volunteers who have private development conversations with prospective service/parts vendors and offer “seems good” thumbs up?

3. Should there be a voting system that confers “approved” status and a special profile badge on those who have earned the unquestioned respect of the community?