Upgrading hurricane motors

I’m looking to upgrade the stock motors to a set of BH flipsky 6384’s. I know i’m not going to see any performance enhancements other than better thermals, but my main interest is sturdiness. I know a few others have posted here and on the FB pages regarding stock motor failures due to lack of battle hardening and some failures have been catastrophic, nearly leading to severe injury of the users. My goal is to get around that before it happens by upgrading the motors. I’ve been riding on mine for about 6 months now and they’ve been doing great until recently. Now the right motor has lost cogging strength, if that makes any sense. Basically, the right motor has significantly less resistance when hand turning and i feel that could corelate with an overall loss of acceleration and braking ability that i’m recently feeling.

My question:
What is the process of pairing the motors with the stock LingYi ESC? How big of a pain in the ass is it?

I’m sure i will also need to do some work to make the interfaces compatible as well. Would love to hear from others that have attempted this since i’m sure it’s probably a fairly typical upgrade.

2 Likes

I’ve never seen anyone “upgrade” their hurricane motors. As far as I’m concerned the lingyi escs that they are using dont have a motor detection mode, so it’s just not possible

2 Likes

Not at all. It’s absolutely possible. The esc’s don’t run/function the same way as vesc.

The real question is what upgrade will it actually provide? reliability could be better. But in the same vein, because it has no detection or programming (that I’m aware of) will there be any power increase? I think no, unless OP happens to be baking those meepo motors and the FS’s are thermally better.

for FOC doesnt the esc need to know the motors parameters? I thought thats why motor detection for FOC exists.

1 Like

I’m far from an expert here, but to my knowledge that is a VESC requirement not a FOC requirement.