My First Build Journal

Hi everyone! My name is Dillon, and this is my first build journal. I’ve spent months saving up, reading, and collecting parts for this build, and I finally was able to complete it just before school started. Since school started I wasn’t able to do this last week, so I’m doing it this weekend. The parts for my build are
Blank DIY longboard deck
50 degree Caliber 2 trucks
85mm Orangutang Caguama Wheels
TB 6355 190kv Motor
4.12 Maytech 50a super esc
10s2p P42a Battery by @Skyart
Flipsky Vx1 Remote
Ownboard Metal Enclosures

Here is some progression photos of my build

So my parts were still showing up in the mail at this point, so I decided to file down the hole where a power button would go, but I decided to use a loopkey. This took all day to file down, probably because I didn’t have the proper tools, but it worked and turned out great. Then I spray painted the enclosures in a flat black, since I didn’t like the glossy and I wanted to cover up the marks from the filing.

Next, I assembled the drivetrain. I filed down the Caliber trucks in order for the mount to fit. In the process of mounting the motor mount I stripped the bolts way to easily, which was really frustrating, but I didn’t want to have to order more parts so I used vise grips to tighten the bolts down which ended up working.

I went full on DIY with routing the wires by using a flat head screwdriver and a hammer which surprising worked. Then I drilled the holes for the inserts and the wires, and inserted the inserts.

Next, I soldered on all the xt90 connectors and made the loopkey. I was surprised my I still had my soldering skills, and was using my trusty ts100.

I routed the wires onto of the deck, soldered the connectors and epoxied the wires onto the deck.