LF experienced battery builder in the UK

Hi all,

I have a 12s5p 30Q battery pack from eskating.eu that needs repairing. The vendor is ignoring my emails -and sending it back to Italy would probably not be very easy anyway, so I thought to see if there’s anyone here, located in the UK, willing to take the job.

I believe the cells are OK and the problem lies with the BMS or the switch. The problem started in that the button wouldn’t always turn the board off -and even when it did, the button LED would remain on for a while. I foolishly ignored the problem and eventually one day it just turned off for good mid-way. The switch’s LED would still lit but no power on the LCD screen and no power output. I’ve left it aside for the last 4-5 months, but lately I decided to put together a belt-drive, since I already have the parts sitting.

I have no experience with batteries/BMS so I am looking for someone with experience in building 18650 battery packs that can open the shrink wrap, have a look at the BMS/Switch and replace what’s necessary.

Thanks
Nik

1 Like

Where are you located? 4-5 months may be a problem… what was the charge status of the pack when you left it?

1 Like

Northeast, Teesside.

Battery was half empty, I tried to measure it just now and got… 3.3V, though I’m not sure if I can trust that. Could a faulty BMS or a blown fuse result in such ridiculously low for a 12s measurement?

You measured 3.3V for the whole pack? Is the BMS a discharge BMS?

yes, without opening the shrink (which I’m hesitant to), I can only measure the output XT90 connector -that gives 3.3V.

From what I can find from my order details, pack has an antispark switch and uses a “BESTECH BMS 80A Continous”, I’m guessing that’s a discharge BMS?

1 Like

Yeah. Get the shrink opened and measure the battery, you have to know if it’s worth pursuing the pack

1 Like

Thanks, managed to do it without blowing up anything :smiley:
It’s 48.5V so looks fine!