How to: Ackmaniac ESC Tool

Originally published at: http://esk8.news/how-to-ackmaniac-esc-tool/

It seems there are some issues with the newest VESC Tool (as of 06/20/2019) including the absence of an ERPM limit for direction change (reverse) and unusable values applied with the motor setup wizard.

After a recent discussion with Trampa, it appears that feature requests are equal to “You are all very good at complaining instead of actually be thankful“. With that being the case I figured I’d write a tutorial, or “How-To”, for the Ackmaniac ESC-Tool so you guys have options for a safe & reliable reverse and a wizard that give accurate values.

I have been running this firmware for almost 2 years and have used this method dozens, likely hundreds, of times. If we can assume you have no pre-existing hardware issues and the install has been done correctly this WILL work, you will be riding in minutes.

If you see a mistake, please let me know and I will evaluate the requested change and commit it if needed.

Start with downloading the Ackmaniac ESC-Tool.

Ackmaniac ESC-Tool Link
Download file name: ACKMANIAC_ESC_TOOL_3_103.zip

After downloading the file, do this…
Right Click > Extract All > Extract
Double click the extracted folder named ACKMANIAC_ESC_TOOL_3_103
Double click the executable named ACKMANIAC-ESC-Tool.exe

If User Account Control (UAC, a protection schema in Windows 7, 8 & 10) prompts you to allow this program to run, click Run.

This is what you should see, this is the opening window of the ACKMANIAC ESC-Tool

From here there are 3 major tasks you can do.

1. Firmware update
    This is the firmware you load on the VESC\ESC that enables you to use the Ackmaniac app to configure the VESC\ESC as well as use the Ackmaniac android app (discussed later on).
  2. Motor Setup
    This is where you configure the options for your specific motor or motors, including battery specifics, BLDC & FOC modes, etc.
  3. App/Input setup