Flipsky 6384 with Trampa helical spur gear

I’m looking for advice or suggestions on this one.

I bought the Flipsky’s 6384 motors and the Trampa helical spur gear drive.

The gear drive comes with the can cover with mesh to protect the motors, however they seem to not line up to be bolted down. The motor wires are in the way as pictured below. I would use CAD to mock up a new can cover but i’m not that good at CAD. I do have a resin and fdm printer but not sure if it’s even worth it. I could just bolt the motors straight to the hub assembly but in my opinion it doesn’t look great.

I believe the phase wires are getting in the way there, correct?

I think the phase wires on the Trampa motors come out at a different angle so they do not interfere with the cage.

1 Like

You are correct. they are ever so slightly off preventing the holes to line up. I guess I’m looking for advice weather to spend time on designing a new piece with the corrected adjustments to print or just go without the cover at all, although it doesn’t look as well.

I must have missed this. I see another solution which would be to cut part of the cage/plastic with a sharp exacto or dremel.

Most likely the phase wires will be pointing down or in towards the board and you wont see the cuts that much anyways. You can probably file it nice and smooth too.

1 Like

I thought about doing this as well. It may be the way I go honestly, but I didn’t know if I could get away with taking material off without destroying the one mounting hole, or if missing that mounting hole would even make a difference.

1 Like

I doubt loosing 1/6 mounting points will make much of a difference.

1 Like

I guess I’ll get out my dremel tomorrow to give this a shot. I’m still missing bolts from trampa and they said they would ship them out. So it’s a lot of just sitting around waiting before I can finish this thing haha

2 Likes

I‘d either dremel that part out or just don’t install that cages.