Checking my soldering job.

Hey, so I’m new to soldering and I just did the connection for two of my ESC to motor cables using bullet connectors and I was wondering if someone could check my soldering?

1 Like

try sliding the silicone down with you finger stretching it, but after you reflow that joint needs more solder.

2 Likes

Yeah, I haven’t put the shrink wrap on it yet but I’m planning to do that too

For both wires, or the one that is more messed up?

What kind of soldering iron are you using? Those joints don’t look like they are getting hot enough for the solder to flow down into the bullet connector.

You are going to need more heat and more solder.

3 Likes

It’s one they have at my colleges shop.

https://www.jensentools.com/weller-wes51-promo-analog-soldering-station-free-tips-eta-etp-eto-ets-etc/p/486-523
I’m pretty sure it’s this model, 50W

I did have trouble heating it. It seemed to only heat up if I placed the solder iron tip on its side.

Looking at the temperature specifications, it should be able to get hot enough for what you are trying to do. Maybe it’s defective. Is there another iron in the shop that is available?

Yeah, I’ll try another one next time. It might have been the tip of the iron that’s a problem? It seemed really blunt compared to others I’ve seen

It could be a problem with the tip, but I haven’t experienced that before.

You can also do bullets super easy with a butane torch. Clamp just the tip of the connector or orient the whole thing upright, partially fill connector with solder under flame and without removing heat, dip fluxed and tinned cable in from above. Let it cook for a few beats and you’re golden.

1 Like

Interesting. Have to try this just for fun

3 Likes