(AU) Help me find a pre-made board

Hi Everyone,

I’m looking to buy a pre-made board but I’m new to the hobby, I recently escaped the Raptor 2.1 trap, and I’m a little apprehensive about jumping the gun on a new vendor before getting some decent advice. That’s where hopefully you guys come in.

I’ve got a budget of 2000-2500USD, and want something that is reliable, has parts available, and is run by people with a good name in the community as far as after sales support is concerned. I’m not in a rush to receive the board, and understand it can take months, but expect solid communication if/when hiccups in production occur.

With that said, I want a fast board that can handle pretty much whatever terrain I throw at it, for this reason I really want an AT setup, with pneumatic tyres. I also want something that can be user serviced so I can eventually tear it down and get into the DIY side of things. Also since I’m in Australia, and Australian vendor would be preferable because of the consumer protection side, but I’d be happy to go with an overseas vendor that has good feedback.

So far I’ve looked at the Baja S2, and the Lacroix Jaws. I’ve also had a look at the evolve boards, but I don’t think they’re quite fast enough and the range is slightly under what I’m hoping to get. To be clear I’m looking for ~50kmph (31mph) top speed, a 30% gradient climb, and ~40kms (25mi) range. Hopefully I’m not asking too much for my budget, but let me know if I’m dreamin’.

Cheers!

3 Likes

Honestly I would go for the Baja. Solid resale value. It would be really cool to see one with like an extra .5Kw battery for extra range.

1 Like

All very solid boards.
I’d suggest having a look at @longhairedboy. He always has great boards on display :slight_smile:
Personally if I were to go for a production board, I’d choose jaws anyday…but I might be a bit biased as I live 25 minutes away from their shop XD

2 Likes

Is the LaCroix really suited for off road?

2 Likes